lowa Department of Transportation

CLAIM FOR REFUND

E-mail: vehser@dot.state.ia.us Website: http://www.dot.state.ia.us/mvd/index.htm

Disclosure Statement: The information requested will be used by the Department of Transportation and by your County Treasurer to determine eligibility for a refund. Failure to provide all information **will** render the claim unprocessible.

Claim is hereby made for refund of registration fees of \$10 or more as provided in Iowa Code Section 321.126 and 321.173 as amended.

Use This Space Below for Your Explanation		
Claimant/County Treasurer Explanation of Error:		
List Vehicle Identification, Title, or Plate Number:		
Print or type the following information:	Check the appropriate box:	REFUND AMOUNT
	Overcharge, official error or renewed in error.	
Name of Owner(s)	Apportioned registration.	
Current Mailing Address	 Military storage. 	
	□ No replacement.	
City State Zip	Excess credit.	
) Current Telephone Number	Moved out of state.	
	Refund of less than \$10.00 will not be granted.	
Sold, Junked or Traded Vehicle Replacement Vehicle		
Sale Date	Date Replacement Vehicle Acquired	
Date of registration in the new jurisdiction		
I/we hereby certify that the information pertaining to the vehicle described herein is true, to the best of my knowledge and belief.		
Signature of Owner(s)	Business Name	
Authorized Representative's Signature	Title	Date
THIS PART MUST BE FULLY COMPLETED BY THE TREASURERS OFFICE BEFORE SUBMITTING		
	DEPARTM	ENT USE ONLY
Date Claim Received		
Date Registration Receipt and Plates Returned		
Completed By		
County		

CLAIM NUMBER

To File This Claim

The owner of the motor vehicle shall claim the refund by submitting a form prescribed by the Department to the county treasurer's office in any county.. The registration receipt *may* be attached if available. No more than one (1) vehicle per claim.

When Registration Refunds Are Available

If you are selling, trading, junking or moving your vehicle(s) out of state you may be eligible for a refund of registration fees if:

Overcharge or official error. The registration fee collected on the vehicle exceeded the amount required by law or was collected in error. The refund shall be the amount of overcharge or error. You must file a claim within six (6) months from the date the fees were collected.

Apportioned registration. The motor vehicle was registered by the county treasurer for the current registration year and has since been registered with the office of Motor Carrier Services as provided in Iowa Code Chapter 326. The refund shall be based on the remaining unexpired registration months in the calendar year from the date the claim is filed at the county treasurer's office. **Refund of less than \$10.00 will not be granted.**

Military storage. The motor vehicle has been placed in storage upon entry into the military service of the United States in time of war. (*lowa Code Section 321.128*) The refund shall be the remaining unexpired months of the registration year from the date the claim is filed at the county treasurer's office. **Refund of less than \$10.00 will not be granted.** Need to have the date the vehicle went into storage.

No replacement. Vehicle was sold or junked. The refund shall be based on the remaining unexpired registration months in the registration year from the date of the sale or junking of the vehicle. You must file a claim within six (6) months from the date of sale or junking. **Refund of less than \$10.00 will not be granted.**

Excess credit. The credit shall be claimed within 30 days from the date the vehicle for which credit is granted was sold, transferred or junked. The refund shall be the amount of fee which exceeds the registration fee for the vehicle acquired. You must file a claim within six (6) months from the date the vehicle was sold, traded or junked. **Excess credit of less than \$10.00 shall not be refunded**.

Moved out of state. Must surrender plates and proof of registration in another state. The refund must be claimed within six months from the date of the out-of-state registration. Refund of less than \$10.00 will not be granted.

When Registration Plates Must Be Surrendered

When making claim for refund, the plates must be returned to the county treasurer if:

- 1. The vehicle is put in storage and the owner enters the U.S. military service in time of war, or:
- 2. The vehicle is registered under prorate as provided in Iowa Code Chapter 326, or;
- 3. The vehicle is sold or junked and no replacement was acquired.
- 4. The vehicle is moved out of state.